The Phrase That Can Die A Slow, Painful Death

28 Jul

Just Sayin’

If there’s one thing I ALWAYS find irritating, it’s the phrase mentioned above. And fanny packs but I think I already vented about that.

I have a Facebook friend that uses it after every single status. From innocuous updates like “Great day on the lake – just sayin'” to “My kid got Mr. X as a teacher this year. Going to be a great year – just sayin'”

WHY, FOR THE LOVE OF ALL THAT IS HOLY, DON’T YOU JUST SAY WHAT YOU WANT TO SAY?!?!? Are you being sarcastic? Is it cold at the lake? Are you pleased about Mr. X or are you switching schools? What do you mean?!?

It’s annoying but mostly harmless. For this person ‘Just Sayin’ is the same as ‘like’ from when I was in high school – a verbal twitch that needs to be beaten to death with a bludgeon.

I’ve always viewed the offending phrase as A Snarky Comment, Coated in Acid + Just Sayin’ = Total Forgiveness!

Somehow that phrase is supposed to be the sugar that helps the snark go down easier.

Either say what you mean & face the consequences or do the thing you were told to do way back when you were a kid & don’t say anything if it’s not something nice!

Can we please, please, please axe ‘Just Sayin’ from our collective vocabulary? Please?!

If you can’t, I won’t always think of you as a prumphænsn. I’ll just think it most of the time.

Just Sayin’

K~

 

 

 

3 Responses to “The Phrase That Can Die A Slow, Painful Death”

  1. Wendy July 28, 2013 at 4:05 pm #

    I hear you! another one I hate is “I know, right????” ug

  2. Emily July 28, 2013 at 5:57 pm #

    I agree with Wendy! That one is so annoying. I know right?

  3. Kristi Leckband July 29, 2013 at 2:21 pm #

    Yes, yes, yes. Can we start a campaign?

Leave a comment