Cartus Relocation: Use With Extreme Caution!

21 Nov

Cartus is our relo company.  We detest them.  The place is filled with morons.  They can’t read but they can sure tell a good story.

J~ had his conversation with the Cartus manager yesterday.  He’s still sorry but that’s about it.  He was even reluctant to assign us to a different person because the two we’ve been dealing with (both of ‘Sure you have a buyout!’ fame) are the ones assigned to J~’s company so they know the policy best.

*Insert maniacal laughter here.*

Whew, the place is full of jokester’s that’s for sure!  If only I was in the mood for their humor…

J~’s co. gave up doing what we erroneously assumed was the ‘full move’ (buyout & home sale bonus) when they switched to Cartus sometime this year.  So Cartus has not done a move with those two elements with J~’s co.  And yet they know the policy best.

Oh the incompetence.  I sure would hate to move overseas with them in charge.

The upside (maybe) is we have a new Cartus rep.  No word yet on how much that person sucks.  Our plan is to run everything by J~’s HR rep at his company to double check Cartus.  Oh & the Cartus manager wants to be cc’d on any emails & dial in on phone calls.  Except that it took 2 days of phone tag for the guy to talk to J~.  Sounds like a winning plan.  Something you can expect from a company run by idiots such as Cartus!

K~

17 Responses to “Cartus Relocation: Use With Extreme Caution!”

  1. John February 24, 2009 at 7:38 am #

    I think a lot of people (including myself) would agree with you about Cartus. I would describe them as being arrogant and grossly incompetent. No wonder they are on the brink of bankruptcy.

  2. Joey Lawrence May 18, 2009 at 12:55 pm #

    As a whole Cartus does suck. I used to work there and the place is a joke. Most of the folks I used to worked with are good people. It is just that management has them stretched so thin. Contact the VP at the Irving, TX office: kathy fescko if you keep having trouble. At least you will be able to light a fire under someones backside to get things taken care of

    • Al July 6, 2009 at 5:22 pm #

      I tried the Kathy Fescko route to get an issue resolved with no luck. Her solution to getting my issue resolved was for me to commit Insurance Fraud. Can’t say more about it just now (pending legal action), but I would never recommend anyone purchasing a house with these people involved, for reasons stated above.

  3. Frank LLosa- Broker FranklyRealty.com May 25, 2009 at 10:29 pm #

    I am so glad you wrote this, can I use this ammo on Cartus being a CROC in my upcoming blog post?

    Frank

  4. marisa June 3, 2009 at 12:10 pm #

    I was unfortunate enough to try to buy a house from someone that has Cartus as a relo company in November 2008. It took me 3 months, hours of phone calls, countless emails to give up. I never encounter in my life such a bunch of incompetent people. Ohh ok, you can be incompetent or make mistakes, but they are liars. I was kicked from one people to the other. My advice.. NEVER deal with them. Someone says in this post that they are on the brink of bankrupcy.. Well I ‘ll pray they close their doors soon, so other people won’t get trap in their scam.

  5. Elaine Donahue August 6, 2009 at 4:32 pm #

    Well I have a real good nightmare going on right now, sounds so much like the the first posters issues, wish I would have tried google before today.
    Heres my story
    My Husband has been offered a very nice job with a big named plant in the south.
    They have cartus as their relocate people, it has been nothing but a cluster flippin ride.
    I so love how they put a price tag on your home, (must sell in 90 days) I have been paying tax’s at 300,000. Today I got the offer for my place 152,000. now mind you this is a give away, since they must sell it in 90 days. And my rep was so happy to be able to offer me so much ( they must be on drugs)
    This is not even close to the price I paid for my home 11 years ago, nor the improvements I have made.
    I know the real estate is down , but its not down that badly here!
    It has only taken them since April to come up with this price and after many appraisers coming through my home.
    I too have had nothing but hardship trying to get them on the phone, they are by far the worst relo company I have ever had to deal with.
    I have never been treated with such disregard in my whole life, nor treated as if I am a very dumb and uneducated person. All I can say is WOW
    I would recommend that no one do business with them, they are a major rip off!!!!!

  6. madeline June 21, 2010 at 4:10 pm #

    I’m so happy to find out that we are not alone with our Cartus problems. My favorite is when they lose the paperwork and claim that they never got it. Yet when you give them the time that the fax was received by them (since I learned early on to keep all fax records) they have no response. And you have to fax the paperwork again, and again, and again. Then there’s the issue that they told us that we only had 90 days to sell so we panicked and took the buyout only to find out that our company’s policy is that we have a full year to sell. But of course they will never put anything in writing. I finally got to the point that I would put in an email that I wanted an answer in writing for my records. There have been so many issues with this company I can’t even begin to list them. Is there a better company out there?

  7. Nathan October 30, 2010 at 1:55 pm #

    Cartus is the relocation company assigned by my new company and they have been nothing but problems. Submitted paperwork, including scanned PDF documents are mysteriously “lost” by both the reimbursement personnel and my representative (despite being emailed to her less than a day prior to a phone call).

    Some reimbursement items, like relocation lodging, home purchase costs, etc., have clearly laid-out receipts and are spelled out in my policy. Despite meeting all their criteria in their reimbursement instructions, every one of my submissions has had a problem. Bear in mind some of these “adjusted out” items are not trivial in their dollar value. I can’t tell you how much of a bad surprise to receive reimbursement checks hundreds of dollars short of what is expected.

    Many of the other recent mid- and senior level hires at my company are dissatisfied with the hassle presented by Cartus and have indicated such to corporate HR. Cartus shouldn’t be surprised if my company, over 85,000 people strong decides to take it’s relocation business elsewhere.

    • Steve August 31, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

      I am in the middle of a cartus relo now. Be your own advocate. Cartus is there to sell the house period. They have proven to have very little knowledge of my company’s relo benefits. My assigned coordinator almost cost me 6K, luckily he was on vacation when I called to verify what I’d been told. Their is at least one person there who knows her job and she happened to answer the phone. My agent updates me regularly and Cartus will usually follow up with the same info a week or two later. She copies me on her emails so I know they have it but they take their time responding. The only thing that I can see that would keep you safe is not signing the power of attorney for them to close until your completely happy with the contract. They were going to pay the buyer 5k in closing cost out of my equity without my knowledge. Also use email so you have a record. That phone call never happened. I’ll post something from the buyers side after I’m done. My overall opinion ” if the fast food place on the corner isnt hiring, there is always cartus”. Good luck

  8. alexander February 29, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

    Glad I saw this blog. Seems I have run into Cartus whereby they acted as agent for a relocated couple and rented there house to us. A high rent and additional charges demanded during
    and after we had vacated even though we had sent them info showing we had paid. Even hiding what little interest there might have been on a 2010/2011 $6000 security deposit. How petty can they be…….I will be on my guard……

  9. Joe July 6, 2012 at 5:21 pm #

    I’ve been reading about these guys and they stink!! Was about to buy a house from them, after agreeing to a contract, they sent me a 42 pages of addendums and disclosures. I smelled a rat, started googling them online and found all kinds of stuff about them. So I told them I’m not signing 42pgs of addendums and we canceled our contract.

  10. J. Barrymore November 3, 2013 at 11:08 am #

    I use to work for Cartus Relocation when it was called Primacy Relocation out of the Memphis, TN office. The place used a lot of temporary workers. However, they didn’t want to pay the temporary workers and were committing wage theft all over the place. We had to take work home, files of it, and complete the work off the clock. Those who complained to their temp agencies were quickly and quietly dismissed. Even when they had been very good employees. Kelly Services was the worst. They were so desperate for the contract they always looked the other way when their employees were abused or cheated. People did it to keep their jobs. The Memphis job market sucked at the time. This was around 2007 when the job market all over was tanking but it was really awful in Memphis.

    Management there was highly unethical. Very underhanded. I believe the person above when they said Kathy Fescko told them to commit insurance fraud. Sounds like something a Cartus (Primacy Relocation) manager would do.

  11. Kandace February 27, 2014 at 5:17 pm #

    It doesn’t matter if you’re trying to save your relationship after cheating, stop a divorce,
    or you just want to get your ex back. Unfortunately
    Nora Ephron recently passed away, but she left us with some of
    our most endearing romantic comedies of all time — from “When Harry Met Sally” to “Sleepless in Seattle”
    and “You’ve got Mail. Brad Garret is a stand-up comedian but also well known for his acting career.

  12. Rosemary March 24, 2014 at 12:18 am #

    After having adapted a recipe, if a person realizes that there is a lot of liquid after cooking,
    just filter the broth in the roasting pan or shallow saucepan and
    boil until it reaches the required consistency.
    Empty the batter to the cake pans and bakes for 35-40 minutes or when
    a skewer arrives clean. You could should search for a genuinely excellent bakery because of this one particular.

  13. Werner March 26, 2014 at 7:10 pm #

    Cake Decorating Can Be Very Easy —- HOW TO MAKE A
    CAKE FROM SCRATCH. Now, you could possibly feel perplexed about just how can a vegan banana cake supply
    minerals and vitamins on the body. My personal preference is usually to
    use a cake that is certainly as moist as possible.

  14. josephperkins2510.blog.Com April 6, 2014 at 5:51 am #

    Seeing a visual of how a home may be modified to fit their vision of their
    dream home can be the impetus that moves individuals from lookers to
    buyers. Basically, simply maintain your number of cards distributed to the people
    with your group who participate, and lastly using the arises from sales.
    Sellers may have to re-locate prior to home is sold, the home may belong to your deceased family
    member, it may are actually rented out before as well as the seller struggles to find new renters,
    along with the list goes on.

    • Jennifer October 19, 2023 at 8:15 pm #

      I am having to use Cartus as the third party relo co. for my new job with a very well known coffee company. They only do lump sum relocation offers for my new company. Literally their only job is to have you fill out your profile and bank info online, call you a few days later to have your “benefit consultation” and then submit the payment request to my company’s payroll department to be taxed and direct deposit the money. That’s it. It’s a take it or leave it set amount based on a calculator that you plug in the number of people in the family and the miles between your old house and new house. So im expecting the phone consultation to be pretty straightforward, right?! She is super bubbly and basically tells me that im being offered $8500 for relocation, but the tax amount for the state of Ohio (where I’m moving) is 52% on that, and my amount after tax will be $5500. I quickly questioned her accuracy on the tax percentage as I knew that was incorrect. I also pointed out the fact that her math doesn’t add up. $5500 is not 48% of $8500. She got defensive and said that it’s just an estimate, and that yes, the tax rate for Ohio is 52%. I just gave up on getting a straight answer from her. So it is now 5 days before my move and I still do not know how much money I’m actually getting and of course have not received it. I don’t get the point of my company even using Cartus for something like this. Surely the HR department of a company as big as the one I am going to work for can handle plugging some generic numbers into an app and wiring a lump sum total to the employee’s bank account. It’s been the most ridiculous experience. So I have exteme sympathy for anyone having to deal with Cartus any more complex way than I have had to. What a joke!

Leave a comment