Phu Tho 12.19.14

19 Dec

Big day today. J~ was very excited about today. I was apprehensive.

One of the big to-do’s for this trip was to find out a bit more about T~’s past. We wanted to head back to her province & see the orphanage again & hopefully find her finding spot. To do this, we contacted a friend who teaches English at a university in Hanoi & she put us in contact with two of her students who were up for the challenge.

We hired a car & headed out to the province around 9am. Our guide H~ found stop #1, the provincial building right away. We took a few pictures

IMG_2063

& then found a little place for lunch.

IMG_2065

The kids were thrilled with the fried rice.

After lunch we went to H~’s aunt’s house for a little local hospitality. After that we went to one of Vietnam’s most important historical sites, Hung Temple. Our guide was more than a little proud to show off his hometown 😉

After a climb up the mountain to see the temple, we headed out to T~’s commune to see what we could see. Our guide thought we might be able to meet the person who found T~. Unfortunately, he wasn’t available. Instead, we met two nurses at the local medical clinic who had taken care of T~ before she was transferred to the orphanage. That was pretty special. I’m still processing all of this. T~ is too, I’m sure.

I don’t want to share too much about this yet. It’s really T~’s story to tell, but I will post a picture of T~ in the place where it all began.

IMG_9458

After the trip to the commune, we headed back to Hanoi to pack up for the next adventure. On Saturday we leave Hanoi for a 2 night trip to Ha Long Bay. We’re really looking forward to getting out of the city for a few days. After Ha Long Bay, we will board a train for Danang. From there, it’s a short drive to the resort for our Christmas in Hoi An. So, if you don’t hear from us for a bit, that’s why.

K~

6 Responses to “Phu Tho 12.19.14”

  1. Kristi Leckband December 20, 2014 at 5:01 pm #

    Such good parents you are to take this trip with your children! Yes, the finding information and all of the early history of your daughter – so much to absorb and process. You’ll be glad you have these pictures for your daughter, though.

  2. necessarygrace December 21, 2014 at 6:49 pm #

    Wow am I glad that I check Feedly every now and again! Had no idea you were doing this! Isn’t it fun being in VN at Christmas time? We loved it. Glad you were able to meet some people connected to your daughter’s beginnings, I’m sure that helps to fill gaps for her. Have a wonderful holiday!

    • K~ December 24, 2014 at 11:19 am #

      I thought of you as we were making our plans. It’s a fun time to be here. I’m glad you check your feed occasionally. Mine has way too many posts to read, it’s depressing so I hardly ever check it.

  3. Tracy @ My Minivan Rocks! December 21, 2014 at 11:40 pm #

    Hi There!

    I used to read your blog a long time ago. (I’m way behind on blogs. I haven’t checked my feed in a LONG time.) I think you used to read mine, too, but I haven’t updated it in a LONG time either! Someone sent me a link to your blog because you were in Vietnam, and I remembered you! My daughter is from Phu Tho as well. I’d love to talk more about your visit back and how you went about it. Please send me an email if you get the time.

    Tracy

    • Tracy @ My Minivan Rocks! December 21, 2014 at 11:41 pm #

      I just had to retrieve my blog password to leave that comment. That gives you an idea how long it’s been!

    • K~ December 24, 2014 at 11:21 am #

      I will make sure to email you when we get back. It’s been quite an experience. We’re all enjoying being here & if anything, I think T~ is even more proud of her heritage than she was before. We’ll chat soon. We still have a week to go before we leave for home.

Leave a Reply

