Island Time

31 Jan

So January. It’s mostly gone. Oops.

It was a busy month here. J~ was gone for most of it & I’m going to say that’s my excuse for not posting. Just too busy. Plus there was a touch of the stomach flu & preparing for a glorious 6 days away from the Frozen Tundra that is the Midwest.

J~ was asked to do winter nursery duty again & he jumped at the opportunity. For a brief time, he was going to Hawaii & I was not going with him but then the stars aligned & he was booked for Puerto Rico & my slice of winter sanity was back within my grasp. The kids were well looked after by my sister Jen & my dad. The kids were happy with the arrangement, well, sort of. They are growing more & more bitter each time we go to PR without them.

The goal for my trip was R&R. I was not interested in a kayaking tour or a snorkeling trip or horseback riding or a bike tour or museums or anything that didn’t involve a book & a beach.

I got exactly what I wanted.

And it was lovely.

We spent a few days in Ponce at the resort while J~ finished up work & then we headed out to spend a few days on Culebra. Culebra is home to one of the top 10 beaches in the world, Playa Flamenco.

I would have to agree. It was beautiful. The water was so clear & blue. The sand was so soft. We had planned to spend part of a day at the beach & then pack up & hike to another but we just couldn’t pull ourselves away. We had a perfect spot in the mangroves

IMG_1116

with this as our view.

IMG_1119

Why go anywhere else?

So we didn’t. And then we went back the next morning as well. It was perfect.

But now we’re back to the land of cold & snow & kids & responsibilities. And the only thing that is getting us all through is this guy:

DSC_0075

We go get him in 2 weeks!

K~

One Response to “Island Time”

  1. Kristi Leckband February 4, 2014 at 11:01 am #

    That is quite the view. I wouldn’t have left either. Well, maybe I’d come back, but only for that cute, little puppy!

Leave a Reply

