All Better!

16 Sep

I’m no longer dying. I just had bronchitis.

I spent most of Wednesday on the couch, was in bed by 8 on Thursday & by 9 on Friday. I’m still lacking some energy, but I can now walk up the stairs without feeling winded. Yay me!

I realized as I was casting about for something to blog that I have not yet finished the Alaska trip. So let’s hop into the Way Back Machine & set it for Mid-July & finish up the Alaskan Adventure!

After Glacier, it was time to make the final push towards home. My dad had a house to vacate & 2 solid weeks of traveling with G~ & T~ next to each other in the backseat of the truck, was no longer a good idea. We left Glacier early on Sunday morning & drove & drove & drove & drove & drove & drove & drove across Montana.

Montana is a large state. We drove 500 miles that Sunday & never left the state. We finally stopped for the night in Glendive. There’s not much to do in Glendive. Or many places to stay. Which was okay because all we really wanted to do was eat some supper, play some cards & separate T~ & G~.

The next morning we made it to North Dakota. We made a stop at Theodore Roosevelt Nat’l Park outside of Medora. G~ had done a research project on TR for school in 3rd grade & he was really excited to see some TR history. We toured his hunting cabin,

IMG_9128

Drove the grounds of the park in search of Prairie Dogs,

Keith! Keith! Keith! No, wait. That's Steve. Steve! Steve! Steve!

Keith! Keith! Keith! No, wait. That’s Steve. Steve! Steve!

And buffalo.

Found some!

Found some!

The scenery in the park was like nothing I’ve ever seen in North Dakota.

DSCN0306

Next we headed to Bismarck where we made a quick stop at the capital

IMG_0786

before heading to my aunt’s house for the night.

We were on the road early the next morning because, come hell or high water, we were going to make it to my dad’s house! We made decent time. We stopped at my sister’s to dump the camper & pack as much as we could into the bed of the truck. We offended my sister’s in-laws by not visiting with them before we left. Oops. I feel bad about that. It was quite a trip & we could have taken 20 minutes to give them the highlights. But we were all so focused on getting to Med City, USA, to sleep in beds & be 3 hours closer to home. Reason, sense, & politeness had left us.

We made it to Papa’s house late but in one piece. We slept in, my dad took care of some errands, & then it was time to strike out for HOME!

IMG_0789

It was an epic journey. I’m so thankful we got to experience so much. It was truly a trip of a lifetime!

K~

One Response to “All Better!”

  1. Becky Weinlaeder Remiger September 16, 2013 at 1:39 pm #

    I loved TR park. I’d like to go back and do some camping, but not in a tent in early June with small children and temps that dip into the 40s. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

