Stages Of Sleep Deprivation

31 Jan

I don’t think I’ve been this tired since giving birth.

What I learned about myself during my 26 hours of wakefulness is that about 19hrs in, I begin to go through the Stages of Sleep Deprivation. This is not scientific, but it probably should be.

Stage 1: Crabbiness. I tried to mask it, but couldn’t quite pull it off.

Stage 2: Overly Emotional. I managed not to be that girl crying over her ruined travel plans, but it was really hard. Especially when J~ wouldn’t spring for the airport internet so I could download the latest Downton Abbey episode.

Stage 3: Don’t Touch Me. Not your elbow. Not your knee. Not your hand on my shoulder or my back. Just back away. This is not a good stage to be in on an airplane.

Stage 4: Jimmy Leg. The only time I have trouble with Restless Leg is when I am overly tired. I spent the 2 hours flying to Destination #2 trying to get a little sleep only to be thwarted by my left leg. I could not stop the twitching. It was miserable. Couple that with Stage #3, & J~ was pretty miserable too.

Stage 5: The Shakes. By the time we landed 5 hours from home & 4 hours from Destination #2, coordination was a thing of the past. Putting one foot in front of the other was almost too much to ask, as was standing upright. J~ & I managed to find 2 other stranded passengers to rent a car & drive home.

I did not have to drive.

You’re welcome.

In the end, we made it home. We slept for 2 hours before getting up with the kids to take them to school & stopping at the store to refill the fruit bowl. The rest of the school day we spent sleeping. I still feel headachey & tired. Thankfully the only remaining stage is #1. I can’t say that’s all due to lack of sleep. Probably has more to do with this outside my window:

IMG_8669

I prefer this:

IMG_0253

K~

2 Responses to “Stages Of Sleep Deprivation”

  1. Kristi Leckband January 31, 2013 at 2:27 pm #

    Thanks for the warnings about jetlag. I think I’m already in Stage 2, and we haven’t even left the ground.

    Were you kids happy to see you?????

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Puerto Rico 2013 « Three Kids=Chaos - February 6, 2013

    […] may have guessed from my Overly Tired Post, that I recently returned from one of my favorite places on earth, Puerto […]

Leave a Reply

