The Freezer Incident

23 May

It’s been almost a week so I feel I can blog about The Freezer Incident without having to censor for swear words.

Picture it: A beautiful Thursday afternoon. It feels just like summer but without the humidity. A gorgeous day. The boys rush home from school & go straight to the basement freezer for a popsicle. G~ comes upstairs complaining that all the popsicles are melted.

Uh-oh.

I rush downstairs to discover that someone, who will remain nameless, left the freezer open. Most likely after the popsicle run from the day before.

In the freezer was about 10lbs of pork loin, a pork shoulder, bacon, strawberries, blueberries, zucchini from last years garden, & of course, popsicles.

I.was.furious.

I remind the kids every single time they go to get anything out of the freezer to make sure to shut it tight.

So instead of spending the afternoon shooting hoops or playing catch or any number of fun things, we made pork.

Lots & lots of pork.

Once the steam stopped pouring out of my ears, it was an enjoyable experience. I gave the boys one recipe & told them they were in charge of making the pulled pork & they set to work. Then we hit another snag. As I was plugging in the crockpot there was a flash & the cord popped off! Thankfully no one was hurt but there’s still a scorch mark on the counter. A quick call to the neighbors & we had another crockpot & the roast was saved. Again.

After all the work or preparing the roasts I realized I still needed to make supper since neither would be done before 10pm.

It was not a good night. Now though, I can appreciate having supper made for the weekend (& then some). It really helped to not have to cook over the weekend while we were ripping up the yard. So, Thanks, nameless child. I guess I owe you one 😉

 

K~

 

One Response to “The Freezer Incident”

  1. Tracy @ My Minivan Rocks! May 24, 2012 at 12:37 pm #

    Noah would have said, “Mom, I hate to tell you this, but…” It’s his new favorite phrase. It’s my least favorite.

Leave a Reply

