Good Samaritan

11 Mar

J~ & I were helped by one today. We were feeling ambitious today so we decided to walk the mile to the Walgreens to return our Redbox movie. Charlie had been severely neglected this weekend as all our walks had been with the neighbor’s more energetic & kind of high-strung dog (read: doesn’t walk well with others) so we took her along. She easily does the mile round-trip walk to school so I thought she could handle a little more distance.

I was wrong.

We got to the Redbox machine & J~ heard her whining. As I walked away from the machine, Charlie’s left hip gave out. She laid down & I checked her foot, hoping she had stepped on something. No such luck. She was pooped. J~ & I were discussing who was going to make the trek home to get the van when a woman stopped to ask if she could give all of us a ride home. We gladly accepted & loaded up our dog & headed home.

It never ceases to amaze me how people will help complete strangers. They will even help strangers with their rather mangy looking dog. (In her/my defense, Charlie is starting to shed her winter coat & she is in need of a bath & a trim but will need to wait until April when it’s consistently warmer).

The whole thing has left a lump in my throat. I know our time with Charlie is drawing to a close. She is nearly 13.5. That’s mid-90’s for a dog. She has definitely entered the Old Dog stage of life. She even lost her very first doggie friend about a month ago to old age.

Charlie & Sadie

Charlie & Sadie

 

I’m not ready. I’ll never be ready. My prayer is that she will curl up in her bed one night & fade away. Anything else will be too hard.

Until then, we’ll continue to step over her as she lays in whatever doorway will be most inconvenient, coax her up the stairs every night so we can tuck her into bed, & love her like she loves us.

K~

 

2 Responses to “Good Samaritan”

  1. Kristi Leckband March 12, 2012 at 8:40 am #

    Charlie is an ever-faithful friend, isn’t she? She’s a beautiful dog, and I know you’ll miss her. She certainly is a treasure.

  2. Julie "Stuff" March 18, 2012 at 9:28 pm #

    I know exactly how you feel.

Leave a Reply

