Dear Pimple On The Butt Of Humanity,

15 Sep

Aka, Pat Robertson.

I very rarely listen to you enough to be upset by anything you say. For years I’ve thought of you as a blowhard who does a great disservice to Christianity. Your views on natural & man-made disasters are abhorrent & just plain wrong. The consequence of living in a fallen world means bad things happen. I’m pretty sure God doesn’t hate us. Sometimes the weather is just bad.

But that’s not why I’m whipping out my soap box. It’s because of your recent remarks about divorce & Alzheimer’s.

Dementia is a terrible disease. I wouldn’t wish it on my worst enemy.

Or even you.

My own personal experience with dementia has robbed my family & I of many, many things, & my mom of even more. Yes, dementia is like a death.

The operative word being ‘like’.

Dementia is not death. It leads to death but the diagnosis is not death. Because something is like something else doesn’t make it that thing.

Monday’s weather was like Summer, but that doesn’t mean Fall isn’t coming. Today’s weather is like Winter but it doesn’t mean it’s actually Winter. I have not been working out & my belly is getting rounder, like I’m pregnant. That doesn’t make me pregnant.

You get the idea.

I take my wedding vows very seriously. When I promised before family, friends, & most importantly, God, that my marriage to my husband would be through good & bad, sickness & health, until death parts us; I meant it. I still mean it. My parents are wonderful models of those same vows.

When you, dear Pimple, publicly condone divorce because staying married is hard, you are no longer speaking a Christian truth or even a moral truth. You haven’t spoken a Christian truth in so long, you might not know one if it bit you on the butt, but that’s neither here nor there. Your remarks promote personal satisfaction above all else & that is a direct contradiction to Jesus’ teachings. Marriage is a model of Christ & His Church. He certainly doesn’t abandon us when we become hard to love. We are called to do the same thing; love our spouse even when it is hard to do so. Even when our spouse has mentally left us. Even when the marriage has become more of a parent/child relationship. We are called to stay. That is living Christ’s love.

So Pimple, I  have many suggestions for you, but I’ll limit myself to this one: GO AWAY! You give love a bad name.

K~

* Try getting that song out of your head now.

**You’re welcome.

***J has been introducing the kids to 80’s hair bands. It was an irresistible ending.

 

6 Responses to “Dear Pimple On The Butt Of Humanity,”

  1. Your Hubby September 15, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

    You know, my dear, your post reminds me that, as Christians, we are all just “Livin’ on a Prayer!”

  2. Jennifer Elliott September 15, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

    I just wanted to let you know that “I’ll be there for you” when times get tough, and some of us will go out in “Blaze of Glory.”

  3. Jennifer Elliott September 15, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

    P.S. I think the kids would love “Pour some sugar on me” by Def Leppard. Awwwwwesome!

  4. Kerstin September 15, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    Everyone I’ve been reading today agrees with you whole-heartedly. Quite frankly I’m really embarrassed for the old gieser. I’m not sure how one can go from wanting to share his faith in Jesus to where he is today. My only thought – why hasn’t his wife left him yet because the only explanation I can give for him is that he has some sort of diminished mental capacity! Did you happen to read either of these?

    http://www.joniandfriends.org/blog/divorce-alzheimers/

    http://www.russellmoore.com/2011/09/15/christ-the-church-and-pat-robertson/

  5. Katie September 16, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    You are so right!!

    • Jo September 17, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

      I couldn’t agree more! As we speak, my mother is taking care (and has been) of my father who suffers from Alzheimers and a host of other related issues. When I went home for a month, I helped my mother take care of him as well–changing his diaper, telling him my name, answering the same question over and over again and finally putting up a baby gate so he can’t wander around in the middle of the night and hurt himself. Should I “divorce” my father as well? This is the time he needs a wife and a family the most. What a moron.

Leave a Reply

