Pet Peeves: Facebook Edition

3 Sep

I’ve been mulling this post for a while & have finally been pushed over the edge. All in the name of ‘Breast Cancer Awareness’.

I’m sure many of you have seen the stupid chain letter type statuses: “It’s Mother, Daughter, Son, Father, Uncle, Cousin, Appreciation Week! If you know someone who was or is or might be human, an idiot, or enjoys passive aggression, post this status for an hour. Most people won’t but my friends really like this kind of crap so I know they will!”

Annoying, but not harmful.

Then along comes the breast cancer post of the month. Maybe you’ve seen it? The one where you pretend you’re pregnant & list your craving?

Distasteful.

I admit I fell for the first one I saw. I had that initial jolt of excitement because this friend has struggled with infertility for years. Then I read some of the comments & realized I’d been had. All in the name of Breast Cancer Awareness. Which I don’t get. How does faking a pregnancy, enlisted via private message, raise awareness of anything other than bad taste? If someone wants to draw the connection for me, feel free.

But mainly I felt sad. Preying on people’s emotions like that just isn’t funny. It’s especially not funny to someone who struggles with infertility. My struggle with infertility is long over & the excitement for another’s pregnancy is an easy emotion. I remember vividly a time when it was not. I remember the sadness I felt as friends announced their pregnancies, wondering when it would be my turn. I cannot imagine how hurtful it must be to be bombarded with fake announcements when you long to make a real announcement. All in the name of Breast Cancer Awareness.

I certainly don’t think we need to screen our every status to make sure it doesn’t upset someone on our friends list, but let’s think before we robo-post. What will this status achieve? Does it really raise awareness? Will your daughter, son, mother, cousin’s boyfriend, or dog really feel appreciated by a generic status? Will the person who struggles with Argyria really feel more supported because of your passive aggressive status guilting others into posting something nonsensical? Probably not. Opt for a personal wall post instead.

If you really want to do something about breast cancer, sign up for a race, do self breast exams, breastfeed your babies, donate a mammogram. That’s actually helpful, not just pretend helpful.

K~

 

3 Responses to “Pet Peeves: Facebook Edition”

  1. Christina September 3, 2011 at 5:37 pm #

    Ok, thank you for explaining those weird cryptic posts because I seriously had NO idea what they meant. My cousin (who is like 5 years older than me) posted something like “10 weeks and no cravings” and I was like, “No way can she be pregnant? Must be a diet thing.” Never did it cross my mind to think “Oh, Breast Cancer! I’m so glad she posted that cryptic comment so I would think more about Breast Cancer!” Really, can people be more lazy and self-indulgant than to think it is adding anything to the world to post a random status? And those chain letter type statuses, I’m totally with you on those too, hate ’em.

  2. Kristi Leckband September 3, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

    Amen, sister! The first one I saw got me all excited and confused at the same time. Then I received a message that explained the whole spiel. There are so many other ways to promote awareness.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Did You Know… « Three Kids=Chaos - February 1, 2013

    […] will not repeat my rant about these stupid posts, you can read last years if you’d like. Or read about my sister’s friend whose battle with breast cancer will […]

Leave a Reply

