Fill Her Up

2 Sep

T~ has been a mess. The last few weeks any time I try to leave her, with her dad, her friends, our neighbors whom she loves, she screams, clings, & cries.

It’s been hard. Also why I needed my Solo.

I finally figured out she was stressing about preschool. She’s had 3.5 weeks to mull it over, which doesn’t help. I really wish preschool started at the same time as the boys’ school.

Anyway, she’s been a mess. I tried weaning her off me; leaving her more often.

Tears, screaming, clinging.

And that was just me 😉

Finally, I had a moment of parenting brilliance; instead of building up her tolerance to my leaving her, I decided to ‘fill her up’ instead. We have spent almost all waking moments together. We’re usually together, but I was more intentional about focusing on her rather than the thousands of things I need to get done in a day.

It worked! After only two days of Operation Fill Her Up, I was able to leave for a church meeting with zero drama.

None.

It was amazing.

All this week we’ve been joined at the hip & now she’s excited for preschool & keeps asking when she can go play at her friend E’s house – something she has been hesitant to do since the onset of Clingy T~. I love it when my brain puts in an appearance.

K~

2 Responses to “Fill Her Up”

  1. Teresa September 2, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    Good idea! Amazing how sometimes the opposite is often what works!

  2. Jo September 2, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    I think I did the same thing, but unintentionally! I have a 9 year old boy who doesn’t like to talk sometimes. I get maybe a “yes” or maybe a “no” when I ask a question, but that is about it. Sometimes I get “I just don’t feel like talking”. Well, we bought him a phone the only day (for when he is home alone or at practice somewhere) and PRESTO–he calls me all the time now just “to talk”. The other day, we called from his room while I was downstairs and we had a nice conversation about what he was doing. Such a bad parenting move–but he’s talking!

Leave a Reply

