Solo

29 Aug

My hubby asked me about a week ago what I wanted for my birthday. This in itself is a major thing because normally we don’t remember birthday’s until we have to pay for overnight shipping. This year I didn’t need anything shipped in. I needed stuff shipped out.

Namely, my family.

For my birthday I asked J~ to take the kids & head to Northern Midwest State so I could have a weekend alone.

In my own house.

Alone.

It’s no secret it’s been a long summer & I needed a break. The thought of spending 2 days with no one asking me to feed them, entertain them, wipe their butt, clean their clothes, & no one to tell to do their chores or homework or to get along was almost beyond comprehension but I knew I wanted to try.

It was blissful.

I slept late. I watched two movies (The Social Network & The Other Guys). I had drinks with friends. I shopped. I dined with friends. I read a book (The Hunger Games is AWESOME!). I ate alone. I took the dog for a walk. I rode my bike. I went for a swim. I even bought a snow cone at the pool concession stand.

It was a completely relaxing, carefree weekend & I so enjoyed it.

I did find myself wishing J~ was home so we could do some things together, but it was good for me to be by myself too.

The family did make it home on Sunday in time to celebrate my birthday with steak & twice baked potatoes & my new fire pit.

Now we’re back to the grindstone, but I feel amazingly refreshed & ready to tackle the week.

Best birthday yet!

K~

3 Responses to “Solo”

  1. Jessica August 29, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    Happy solo birthday to you! Sometimes you need a day like that – glad you got one! Sounded absolutely blissful!

  2. Tracy @ My Minivan Rocks! August 30, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    Ahhhh. That sounds amazing. My birthday was Friday and we took the kids to my in-laws’ lake house. That meant I spent my birthday packing and doing laundry. Not so amazing. We had a great weekend, but time alone would have been marvelous.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fill Her Up « Three Kids=Chaos - September 2, 2011

    […] It’s been hard. Also why I needed my Solo. […]

Leave a Reply

