The Woes Of The Middle Child

26 May

G~ is singing the middle child blues.

I can totally commiserate with him. I spent my childhood being shoved out of video range because of an older sister who felt the urge to cartwheel whenever she saw a red light on a camcorder & being blamed for every little thing that happened to my perfectly adorable, precocious, younger sister.

G~ was feeling the squeeze because we were keeping a couple of kids overnight. Gus & Anne have spent many hours with us & when their parents needed to head out of town it was natural for the kids to come here. E~ & Gus are in the same class at school, have the same infatuation with Lego’s & Star Wars, & get along very well. Anne is the same grade as G~ & they normally get along great. This time Anne & T~ paired off, leaving G~ to feel a little left out.

It all came to a head when I asked G~ to run upstairs & grab the spray cleaner & he dissolved into tears of unfairness. Apparently what he wanted to do was play DS, something he isn’t allowed to do during the week anyway. After a chorus of ‘Life’s not fair’ (answered by the usual ‘If life were fair I’d be a millionaire’ & ‘the fair is in August’ & ‘adults always get to do whatever they want’ he finally admitted he was feeling left out. I told him soon we would sit down & have a pity party about being middle children. He went to bed like a lamb after that. This morning he even reminded me to pick up some strawberries so we could have strawberry lemonade for when we have our pity party.

I picked up strawberries but forgot the lemon juice, chocolate, & a myriad of other things. *sigh* Someday I’ll actually look at my list…

K~

*before my lovely sisters chime in with how awful I was, please know they are most likely lying. πŸ˜‰

2 Responses to “The Woes Of The Middle Child”

  1. Becky May 27, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    Ok, I was the perfect child and the only time I got in trouble is when you framed me. And you were awful, until J came along πŸ™‚ But I’ll forgive you for that, but only because you said I was adorable πŸ™‚

  2. Teresa Rink May 31, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    Jonathan has been singing the same song this past week! Our poor middle children!

Leave a Reply

