Parenting Brilliance. Yes, It Is Possible.

13 Apr

Every once in a while I happen upon a discipline technique that borders on brilliance. Today I’m going to share it with you. It’s already rocking the world of E~, imagine what it could do for your child!

Ready?

The 5-Paragraph Essay.

It’s brilliant because it’s simple to administer, it teaches valuable skills like handwriting & how to put coherent thoughts down on paper, it forces your child to really think about what they did, & how to make future changes. Plus, if they are  like E~ & detest writing,  it’s a technique that will drive home the point that you mean business.

E~’s essay was on bicycle safety. We had an incident last week that resulted in the locking of his bike until he had completed Bicycle Boot Camp & an essay. He finished Boot Camp a few days ago but has refused to do the essay. I took it upon myself to force family bike rides at every opportunity. E~ was relegated to his scooter. He was not happy with the longer & longer bike rides so he finally broke down & wrote the essay.

I was pleasantly surprised. He came up with 3 great safety ideas; using your brakes instead of your shoes to stop (he even had a sentence about how that technique ruins your shoes & makes your mom mad), hand signals, & being aware of who & what is around you. Being the ogre that I am, I made him write a few drafts & fix errors ,but overall, I was really pleased with the thought & effort that went into his paper.

Now we just need to do something about the chicken scratch he calls ‘handwriting’. He’s destined to be a doctor with that kind of penmanship.

K~

*Due to the Spring Fling, I’m seeing an uptick in new visitors. Hello! Nice to see you here! Glad you stopped by. I updated the About page of the blog but I can’t find it on the homepage so click here to learn more about who is causing all the chaos.

One Response to “Parenting Brilliance. Yes, It Is Possible.”

  1. Tracy @ My Minivan Rocks! April 14, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

    I love it! You’re such an ogre.

    I HATE that technique of stopping with your shoes. You’re right. It does ruin your shoes and make your mom mad.

Leave a Reply

