Doing Myself In

9 Apr

I seem to enjoy making more work for myself. I like to cook & try new recipes but my new thing is making things from scratch. I used to be okay with a jar of Prego for spaghetti, now I use this recipe. Nothing else is as enjoyable. Same goes for pizza sauce. I haven’t found the pizza sauce recipe yet so if you have one to recommend, send it my way.

This is what I cooked up last night.

  • 3T shredded parmesan
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 2T sugar
  • 3/4t onion powder
  • 1/4t oregano
  • 1/4t marjoram
  • 1/4t  basil
  • 1/4t ground pepper
  • 1/4t pepper flakes
  • 6oz tomato paste
  • 1C warm water
  • 1/4C olive oil

In a saucepan, mix together tomato paste, water, & oil. Add spices & bring to a gentle boil. Turn down heat & simmer until ready to use. The longer the better.

It needs some tweaking. I thought it was too sweet, but then I had run out of honey & substituted sugar, so that might have been the problem.

I did really like the crust though.

Pizza Crust

  • 1 1/4 cups warm (100 to 110 degrees F) water
  • 2 packages dry yeast (4.5t of jarred yeast)
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 3 tablespoons good olive oil
  • 4 cups all-purpose flour, plus extra for kneading
  • 2 teaspoons kosher salt

For the dough, combine the water, yeast, honey, and olive oil in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a dough hook. Add 3 cups flour, then the salt, and mix. While mixing, add 1 more cup of flour, or enough to make a soft dough. Knead the dough on low to medium speed for about 10 minutes until smooth, sprinkling it with flour, if necessary, to keep it from sticking to the bowl.

When the dough is ready, turn it out onto a floured board and knead by hand a dozen times. It should be smooth and elastic. Place the dough in a well-oiled bowl and turn it several times to cover it lightly with oil. Cover the bowl with a kitchen towel. Allow the dough to rest at room temperature for 30 minutes. Roll out & brush dough with olive oil or sauce, add toppings, bake for 15 minutes at 350, or until crust is crisp and toppings are cooked.

*As always, I had to modify something. I only used 3C of flour. I was pretty sure adding another cup would have made it not stick together. And I again had to substitute sugar for the honey. I also divided the dough into smaller pieces so the kids could make their own pizzas – always a hit at our house.

Bon appetit!

K~

 

One Response to “Doing Myself In”

  1. Jennifer Elliott April 9, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    You need post photos of the end result.

Leave a Reply

