I Love To Mop!

22 Feb

Well, not really, but I don’t dread it like I used to.  There’s something about knowingly dragging dirty water around the floor that made mopping the ultimate chore.  Right behind cleaning toilets.

I needed a new mop & thought it was time for something different.  My sister thinks the world of her Norwex mop, but I don’t like to do things she does. Just for spite, I went a different route.  I bought a steam mop.  This steam mop to be exact.  I love it.

Mopping is not hard. The worst part of mopping is sweeping beforehand & moving the chairs to another room.  The steam mop doesn’t change that.  What it does change is everything else. There’s no more pushing a dirty sponge around the floor, scrubbing sticky spots with the little scraper edge & then finally giving in & getting out the dish scraper, then plunging back into the bucket & drag more dirty water around the room.  And then once your done you need to rinse the yuck out of the mop.

My steam mop is much easier.  Fill it with water, turn it on, wait till you hear the steam & off you go.  The floor dries very quickly & leaves no streaks. For extra sticky spots, you hold the mop over the spot for a few seconds & the mess comes right up. As soon as I’m done with the dining room, I can move the chairs back & walk away. The only downside I’ve found is it doesn’t slide under the dishwasher.  It fits under the cabinets but our dishwasher sits lower.  Clean up is easy.  Take the towel off (they call it a cleaning pad, but it’s just a heavy-duty towel) & throw it in the washer.  Empty the water out & store.

Easy, peasy, mac &  cheesy, which I would now eat off my floor 😉

K~

4 Responses to “I Love To Mop!”

  1. Tracy @ My Minivan Rocks! February 22, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    I’ve been thinking about getting one of those things, but I want one that has attachments so I can also clean showers and stuff with it. Any attachments on yours?

    • K~ February 22, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

      Nope. No attachments. Would a simple hand-held steamer work for that?

  2. Tonya February 22, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

    I have to agree with not liking the method of bucket and mop or bucket and hands and knees. We got the Bona system and LOVE it. It drys instantly and is safe for our hardwood floors which is the whole house!!! Bye bye mop and bucket 🙂

  3. Julie M. February 24, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

    I love my steam mop , too! I got the Shark for christmas!

Leave a Reply

