Random Things I Have Memorized

14 Nov

I have no idea how we got on the subject today, but in the course of a conversation with the kids on memorizing, I recited E~’s favorite storybook

In faraway lands, when twilight falls on fair & wind-swept days, cats like velvet shadows move, their coal fire eyes ablaze.  And on those bright & moonlit nights while all the worlds asleep, creatures wake beneath the waves & rise up from the deep. The moonlight whirls, the stars burst out, the sand & wind & ocean sway, & from the grip of earth & sea, the creatures make their getaway.  Throughout the night the tuna twirl, the starfish weave & wiggle, and as the sardines dance, their shiny brine-filled bellies jiggle.  Growls & laughter echo in the deepest dark of night, & fishes round the fire spark like cats eyes in the light.  Then a flash of early morning sun, the waking light of dawn, calls the creatures to the sea, & suddenly, they’re gone.  Quiet now the sea-blue sky, no dancing on the shore – until the twilight falls again & the moon comes round once more.

I’ll give 5000 imaginary points if you know the book.

E~ was amazed that I could recite the whole thing.  I think he’ll be even more amazed at my ability to rattle off my being/helping verbs  At least he will once he knows about being verbs.

Just for my Imm. School readers,

Amisarewaswerebebeingbeendodoesdidhavehashad *breath*

cancouldshallshouldwillwouldmaymightmust.

I can’t do it slowly. I’ll have to work on that for when I teach E~ all about diagramming sentences.

K~

5 Responses to “Random Things I Have Memorized”

  1. Jo November 14, 2010 at 8:45 pm #

    I love diagramming sentences!!! Is it truly an art form. Took a whole class in college–hated it at first and then, loved it!

  2. Becky November 15, 2010 at 9:32 am #

    helping verbs, not being verbs 🙂

    • K~ November 15, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

      I remember it as being verbs but I added helping just for you 😉

  3. j.elliott November 15, 2010 at 7:32 pm #

    Where the wild things are

  4. E. November 17, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

    Some of them are being and helping verbs (am, is, are, was, were, be, being, been), the rest are just helping verbs. We’re doing this right now in the ‘ol Pajama Academy (2nd grade).

Leave a Reply

