Let Them Eat Cake!

20 Oct

For E’s birthday, I was ambitious.  I made E~ an aircraft carrier cake using fondant.   I thought making fondant was going to be hard, but it really wasn’t.  This is the recipe I used.  All in all, pretty straight forward.  The hard part was using the fondant.  It’s kind of sticky & not at all forgiving.

Let’s back up.  The design for the aircraft carrier was a 9×13 cake & a 9×9 cake, shaved & cut into pieces.

Next, I had to get the fondant on.

 

How to get this circle to be a rectangle?

 

I ended up doing it in two pieces with a strip in the middle to ‘hide’ the seam.

Then I added the tower.

Next, I added the finishing touches, runways & a ship number.

A little clean up & voila!  Aircraft Carrier #10 is ready for its debut.

It was a lot of work, but the payday was pretty great.

Next year he wants a battle ship.

*sigh*  At least I’ll have time to work on my fondant skills.

K~

Leave a Reply

