Happy Feet

29 Sep

It’s been a month or so since I put on my Vibram’s for the first time.  I was praying I would like them because they’re not cheap & J~ would be upset if they sat in the closet.  I was also hoping they would help with my arch pain.

I don’t like my Vibram’s.

I LOVE them!

There is a bit of a break-in period.  Mostly it’s getting your tootsies okay with being separated.  I still have a ‘hot spot’ on my right pinky toe, but that one is always a little cranky & bit of a cry baby (Get it?  Wewewe all the way home?).  I have high arches which lends itself to a quicker break-in period.  The first week, my feet didn’t hurt but my calves sure did.  After a few weeks, I would say Five Fingers do a better job ‘toning’ than the Shape Ups.

Both are ugly shoes.

Exhibit A

I didn't know they could make an orthopedic shoe even uglier.

Exhibit B

They're not pretty but they do make a good conversation piece

I have worn them camping, hiking, biking, yogaing, & walking.  I’ve worn them while driving, shopping, & to the library.  I prefer to wear them than my other shoes, but they are not a slip-on quick type of shoe.  If I’m running late, I wear my sandals.  It takes me a while to get all my piggies lined up & in the right pocket.  I’m hoping it’ll get easier.

I had gotten out of the habit of wearing them after I stepped in some mud.  They needed a bath (toss them in the washer).  The week it took me to get them washed, my feet hurt.  A lot.  On Sunday night, my left arch hurt so bad I had to ice it.  And I hadn’t been all that active.  Monday I put on the Vibrams & my arches were singing the Hallelujah chorus.  I was amazed.  I couldn’t believe how much better my feet felt.

Lesson learned.  Don’t be so lazy about washing the delicates.

Here’s some pictures of my Vibram’s in action.

Walking on along a river bank

Relaxing between hikes

Exploring a creek bed during a bike ride

I have not worn them for running yet.  My plan is to finish the Couch to 5K with my Asics & then start over with the Vibram’s.  I realize that’s backwards, but from what I know of toe running, it’ll set me back & I just want to complete something.

Now to find some toe socks so I can wear them in the winter.  Oh look!  What about these?!

~

K~

Leave a Reply

