New Year, New Responsibility

19 Aug

The first two days of school have gone well.  E~ loves his teacher & can’t wait for the Invention Convention & the electricity unit.  G~ hasn’t said much, which worries me, but I’m trying to hold off until next week before I unleash the Crazy Parent for his teacher.

So far my complaints about Ms. Hatesjob is she won’t let her students bring a snack from home & she apparently has no intention of having parent volunteers.  I’ll wait till next week to tackle the snack issue & September to tackle the volunteer thing.

*sigh*

On the bright side, I decided this year I was going to let the kids walk home from school on their own.  I was going to start next week but T~ was in desperate need of a nap & didn’t give up the fight to stay awake until after 1.  That’s not a long nap so I called the school & sent messages to the boys & to LOA* to meet up & walk home together.  E~ was happy about the change.  The first thing he said when he walked in the door was if they could do that again tomorrow.  G~ was fine with the change as well.  We talked about the ground rules, (stay within eyesight of each other, no fighting, no tag, stay off the hill, etc), & the fact that I have spies all over the place & I think they’re good to go.  I plan on meeting them at school occasionally but I’m looking forward to having a little more freedom on the nap schedule & apparently, the boys are looking forward to a little more freedom from me.

I aim to please 😉

K~

*LOA is little orphan Abbey for any new readers.

2 Responses to “New Year, New Responsibility”

  1. Tonya August 19, 2010 at 10:48 pm #

    that would be SO nice to have the kids walk home but our school is too far and there is not a bus system for where they go. I guess I will be driving them until they can drive themselves.

  2. Jill August 22, 2010 at 8:46 am #

    Wow! They are all grown up! Where does the time go????

Leave a Reply

