What’s Better? Being Smart or Having Common Sense? And Why Are They Mutually Exclusive?

4 Aug

I was jolted awake this morning by the sound of running water.  I lay there listening.  It wasn’t a toilet.  It wasn’t a shower.  It was the hose.  Who in their right mind would be running the hose at the predawn hour of 7am?

The boys.

In my groggy state, I pictured them outside gearing up for an early morning water fight.  I supposed I needed to check it out.  I drag my drowsy butt down the stairs & look outside to see E~ watering the garden.

Awww!  He was being helpful.  He explained that he thought the plants looked dry & he knew morning was the best time to water the garden.  How sweet.  How thoughtful.  What a kid!

Only there were huge puddles on the patio from the massive, house-shaking thunderstorm that had rolled through over night.  Apparently he didn’t notice the wet patio or lawn.  Or the drizzle in the air.

*sigh*

I thanked him for his thoughtfulness & had him come inside, all the time wondering how a kid can be so smart & yet lack even an ounce of common sense?

He really is very smart.  I’m not just saying that because I’m his mom & I have to.  Trust me.  He’s smart.  He operates on a whole other level.  Ask him for a dissertation on Star Wars (not necessarily a sign of smartness), gears, airplanes, WWII, battle ships, construction, weather, statehood, or Greek Mythology (thank you Percy Jackson), & I guarantee your eyes will glaze over in minutes from the plethora of facts he will recite.

Ask him to pick up his shoes & put them in the closet & he’ll ask, ‘where is this ‘closet’ thing?’

Ask him to pick up his dirty clothes & he’ll stand in the hall wondering what to do with them next.

Read a 600+ page book – no problem.  Mundane tasks – HUGE problem.

Some days it’s really annoying.  Some days it’s amusing.  Everyday I pray for patience for his future wife.  She’s going to need it 😉

E~

K~

2 Responses to “What’s Better? Being Smart or Having Common Sense? And Why Are They Mutually Exclusive?”

  1. Becky August 4, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

    Oh my gosh! It’s like reading a page out of my life in the future! How in the world did our oldest children get to be so much alike???

  2. Jo August 4, 2010 at 5:55 pm #

    I am married to an older version of E. You know, Ph.D, two Masters degrees and god know how many other degrees I don’t know about. So so smart, yet try talking to him about everyday, simple things that us “dumb” people think about and WOW–it’s like talking a foreign language sometimes!

    Been with him 14 years now and yes, sometimes it makes me love him more and sometimes I contemplate how I am going to spend the next 14 years without seriously hurting him.

    It gets worse as he gets older because now old age (mid-50’s)is setting in and making the memory worse!
    What to do? Nothing. I married for better or worse, memory or no memory, rich or poor………

Leave a Reply

