Almost Home

29 Jun

We’re less than 50 miles from home & I cannot wait!  I loved our vacation, but I am more than ready to sleep in my own Cal. King-sized bed, shower in my spacious shower, pull clothes out of drawers, & even cook my own food.

I’ll do a whole vacay rundown later this week, but for right now, I’ll let you in on a few lessons I’ve learned:

  • Holiday Inn Express has completely ruined every other hotel’s free breakfast.  We stayed at an HIE in Maryland & then I spent the rest of our vacation hotel searches trying to find a reasonable rate so we could partake of those cinnamon rolls.  It never panned out.  I’m thinking I will have to sneak into the Rural City HIE & grab one sometime.
  • I thought I’d love a hotel vacation, no cleaning, no cooking, & a real bed every night.  Not so.  I think I prefer camping.  Don’t tell J~.
  • A waitress asked where we were from & J~ said “Northern Midwest State”  & my immediate reaction was to correct him & say we’re actually from Midwest State.  We only live in No. Midwest State, we’re not from there.  I didn’t correct him though.  I was pretty sure the waitress didn’t really care.  It was an odd time to have a ‘Move Issue’ pop up.  Someday I’ll be over it.
  • I am a plodder.  Had I been more with it, I would have requested a plastic surgeon to sew up T~’s head.
  • Yep.  Our vacation included a trip to the ER.
  • T~ managed to find the one spot on the bed frame that would cause the most damage if you happen to lose your balance while vaulting over a bed.
  • She’s fine & did very very well with the stitches.  She just scars poorly & I’m a little concerned how her forehead will heal.
  • Her next haircut will include bangs.
  • Not because I want to hide the scar for looks, just looking for more sun protection.
  • We went through 5 state capitols & stopped at none of them.  Oops.

Only 25 more miles!!!

K~

I think that’s about it.

2 Responses to “Almost Home”

  1. Jill June 30, 2010 at 8:53 am #

    We stayed at a HIE in MN and I was really impressed with their breakfasts. I did get thr cinnamon rolls every day (sometimes maybe 2 but don’t tell)!

    It almost made up for the girls climbing into their sofa bed and pulling out 2 dirty socks in their sheets. Needless to say we requested new sheets pronto! Gotta love hotels.

  2. E. July 9, 2010 at 7:06 am #

    I totally understand what how you feel with that “where are you from?” question. Since we just moved everyone asks where we’re from and I try to just say The State, but then they ask what part, so I wind up giving a long diatribe on how we just came from the NW part of The State, but really we’re from the SW part of The State. If I were vacationing and somebody asked me where I was from, I don’t know what I’d say.

Leave a Reply

