Boredom Bucket

17 Jun

I had this brilliant idea at the beginning of summer vacation to curb the “I’m Bored!” whines.  If a child was foolish enough to tell me they were bored, I would whip out the Boredom Bucket.  The Bucket is filled with all sorts of distractions.  Things like:

  • Wash a window
  • Make ALL the beds
  • Organize bookshelf
  • Sweep off porch
  • Clean a kitchen chair
  • Clean pet dishes

There were fun things too:

  • Wash bikes
  • Play bananagrams
  • 20min of Wii or DS
  • Plan a nice surprise for someone
  • Watch 2 youtube videos

And some educational things:

  • Memorize a bible verse
  • Learn 5 state capitols
  • Read me a book
  • Journal
  • Learn 4 new words from the dictionary

The rule was if you say the magic words, you HAVE to choose from the bucket & you HAVE to do what it says.  I thought there’s no way I’m ever going to get my windows cleaned or the kitchen chairs unstickified.

WRONG!

The kids love The Boredom Bucket!  And they are as happy getting a chore as they are a fun thing.  Sometimes they love it too much, like while I’m trying to make supper & I have to find the dictionary or set up youtube or show them how to make a bed.  But other than the occasional time challenges, it’s worked really well.

K~

4 Responses to “Boredom Bucket”

  1. Tonya June 17, 2010 at 10:57 am #

    I like the bucket idea it is so tangible. I usually find a chore for them when they say the magic words but that has just lead to them not being bored ever 😉

  2. Jennifer June 17, 2010 at 11:31 am #

    I can’t even tell you how much I love, love, love this idea!!!! Perfect!!!!

  3. Becky June 17, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    Wow, where did you ever get that creative idea? I’m impressed. I should make up something like that for Cole. He doesn’t necessarily use the words I’m bored, but he does do the “what should we do now?”

  4. E. June 20, 2010 at 9:05 pm #

    I think I need to try this!

Leave a Reply

