I’d Rather Be Dead in CA than Alive in AZ*

25 Feb

The vacation plan for this year was a trip to Alaska.  The trip has now been postponed so we need to come up with a new plan.

After spending the majority of our last vacation looking like this:

June in MI

I want a warm weather location.  Preferably one surrounded by great quantities of sand & water.

We’re not opposed to flying.  J~ would prefer to drive & camp, but that’s just because he’s crazy & glutton for punishment 😉  I really don’t care how we get there or if the bed is an air mattress or a real mattress, so long as we get there.

There is yet to be determined.

The kids have tossed out New York City, & a Georgia waterpark they saw on the Travel Channel.  I’m thinking Portland (yeah, yeah, I know it’s neither warm nor beachy, but it does have friends we haven’t seen in almost 3 years), the Grand Canyon (warm, lots of sand, but not much for water), or California, J~’s thinking about random Arrested Development quotes*(see title).  Seriously, having a conversation with him lately is a really trying experience.

As you can see, we need help.

So bloggypeeps, where should we go & what should we do while we’re there?

K~

4 Responses to “I’d Rather Be Dead in CA than Alive in AZ*”

  1. Diny February 25, 2010 at 5:17 pm #

    I’m going to suggest Lake Okoboji in Iowa or Big Mack Lake in Nebraska.

  2. Sam February 25, 2010 at 5:56 pm #

    I’d recommended Portland. One of my favorite places plus there is a lot of hiking and scenic places in the Columbian River Gorge as well as some historical places like Astoria. I’d then say the waterpark in GA, I’d hold off on the Grand Canyon until T~ is a little older.

  3. Elaine February 26, 2010 at 9:06 am #

    I have no idea where the water park the kids want to go to is in Georgia, but we really enjoyed Tybee Island, GA last summer. We juts hung out on the beach the whole time, so I don’t know what elese there is to do there. The beach was enough for us!

  4. Lynn February 26, 2010 at 9:12 am #

    I’m a huge fan of sand and water and palm trees. A driving trip to Key West hitting the sites of FL. Camp your way down, that way J~ gets his camping fix and you get Sand.

Leave a Reply

