Olympic Movies *Updated*

18 Feb

The kids have a 4 day weekend & I’m in the mood for some Olympic-themed movies.  I was able to find Miracle fairly easily, but The Cutting Edge & Cool Running’s are a little harder to come by.  So tonight, we will boycott NBC & their nauseating coverage of figure skating & watch Miracle instead.

Did anyone else get teary when Lindsey Vonn won her gold?  I was annoyed with NBC obsessing over her shin, but when Lindsey hugged her hubby & started sobbing, well, I admit there was some moisture in my eye region.  I’m glad she’s enjoying her moment.

And Curling.  Oh how I love the Curling!  T~ & I watched it most of yesterday afternoon.  E~ was intrigued by Curling as well.  For him, it’s a big game of chess – thinking moves ahead – right up his alley.  Too bad we don’t  live far enough north to take up the sport.

Do you have any favorite Winter Olympic movies?

* Just finished watching Cool Running’s with the kids.  As the credits were rolling, G~ jumps up & says “I think we need to dance!”  I think I’m going to need to find some Jamaican songs for the Ipod…

K~

3 Responses to “Olympic Movies *Updated*”

  1. Lynn February 18, 2010 at 7:32 pm #

    The movies about Steve Prefontaine are also good. They touch on the Olympics.

  2. Julie S February 19, 2010 at 5:58 pm #

    I actually used to show the movie “Cool Runnings” to my classes during the Olympics the day before a break! I’m trying to think of the movie about a chess prodigy – Ethan would like it – it’s another movie I used to show. You might know what movie I’m talking about – I just can’t think of the name.

  3. Kristi February 20, 2010 at 2:02 pm #

    Knights of the South Bronx — excellent movie that shows how chess evens the playing field.

Leave a Reply

