A W@lmart Commercial Has Ruined My Daughter

29 Jan

Earlier this week, we all sat down in front of the computer for a little Youtube.  J~’s pick was this commercial.

Bad idea.

T~ was already terrified of anything costumed.  Now, she is scared of pretty much everything else.  Walking by herself, being in the dining room while I am in the adjacent kitchen, the computer, & TV.  She now cries when she’s dropped off at the Y childcare (a place she’s been going since May ’09) & at bible study (also a place not new to her).  It’s slowly driving me insane having her welded to my leg.

I’m trying to be very reassuring.  I’m trying to be patient.  No matter how many times I say I won’t, she seems to think I’m going to play the offending video every time I sit down to check my email.  Which is why I didn’t post it, a link is probably offensive enough 😉

I forget, is it common to develop completely irrational fears at 3?  Anyone know how to flip the switch back to normal?

K~

4 Responses to “A W@lmart Commercial Has Ruined My Daughter”

  1. Sarah January 29, 2010 at 6:07 pm #

    Personally, I can see why a screaming clown is kind of creepy, but our Ethan asked to see it “again!! I imagine, however, that it’s expected for an 18- month-old boys reaction to be different than that of a 3-year-old girl.

  2. Wendy January 29, 2010 at 6:58 pm #

    Worst commercial- I know lots of people who’s kids are freeaking out over it. Stupid W@lmart

  3. Christine January 29, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

    Oh my….that *does* look scarey to a 3 year old girl who was already scared of costumed things. LOL
    I may have nightmares tonight, myself 🙂

  4. Kristen January 29, 2010 at 11:12 pm #

    Just to clarify. T~ wasn’t in the room when J~ pulled up the video. She freaked out from a distance.

Leave a Reply

