Two Down, One to Go

19 Aug

It’s official.  I now have 2 kids in school full time.

The part of me that goes grocery shopping is very excited about the start of school.

The other part of me misses the boys already.

I don’t know how they grew up so fast.  I know it’s cliche, but I truly don’t know where the time has gone.  E~ started 3rd grade today.  3rd grade!!  That’s old!

Our handsome 3rd grader

Our handsome 3rd grader

I thought I put this guy to bed last night.

~

~

But this is who woke up this morning.

Our proud Kindergartener

Our proud Kindergartner

I did surprisingly well at drop off.  With E~n I cried for 3 hours.  Yes you read that right, 3 hours.  I finally had to call the office to make sure he wasn’t traumatized & cowering in a corner.  Turns out, he was having a great day despite the fact he’d seen me crying when we left him in the huge gym full of rowdy, poorly parented older kids (or so it seemed to me).

G~ was super excited this morning.  He was packed up & ready to go 30 minutes before we had to leave.  If only all mornings would be like this…  Anyway, J~ came home & we all walked to school. E~ was doing his best to traumatize/encourage his brother.  G~ was practically skipping he was so excited.  As we got closer to school he slowed a little & held my hand.  We dropped E~ off at his door & then deposited G~ in his line & waved as he proudly walked into the building.

I didn’t cry at the school but am feeling pretty weepy now.  I had G~ home with me for 5.5 years & today, it doesn’t feel like long enough.

*sob*

Okay, I’m done now.  I felt the same way about E~ starting school, so I know I’ll survive.

T~ & I have a busy day planned.  We have some groceries to get.  I have a haircut & if it looks okay, I may get a new drivers license.  I really hate having to find a new stylist.  I need to get a new phone number & then I have to pack for an overnight in MN for a funeral.  G~ doesn’t go to school tomorrow, the non-older-sibling classmates start tomorrow, so he gets to make the trip to MN with T~ & I.  He’s not real excited about that.

*sigh*

The house is so quiet…

K~

3 Responses to “Two Down, One to Go”

  1. Becky August 19, 2009 at 3:15 pm #

    I love the picture of G~. It almost made me cry!

  2. tamara August 20, 2009 at 10:19 am #

    Ah, I know it is so hard watching our little ones grow…..rewarding and wonderful, but can leave you feeling sad also. I am still in shock that my oldest has graduated from high school, is getting ready to start college, has bought a car and is starting her first real big girl job. Tugs at my heart everyday as she drives off to work!

  3. Teresa Rink August 27, 2009 at 3:52 pm #

    I feel your pain! Anthony starts kindergarten on 9/8 – I can’t believe how fast these 5 years have gone by! I’m excited for him (& he is excited too) but still feel like “my baby”!!!! Well, at least I still have the other 2 – but I know the years will continue to go by quick!

Leave a Reply

