Things I Heard During My 15 Minutes At Target

22 Jun
  • I remember those days.
  • Wow, your kid has quite a set of lungs.  I could hear her on the other side of the store!
  • Nap time already?

All were said with sympathy, which was nice, as my patience was already stretched pretty thin.

I read a blog post recently which had a great philosophy about parenting.

…A friend once told me she knows God sent her her children because she, for whatever reasons that only He knows, is best equipped to be their mother.  (She is not a self-important person, by the way).  I admire her faith and her self-assurance as a mother (which isn’t to say she never questions herself, but her faith in the fact that God picked her to mother these children because she is good for them helps her through)…

This mom’s belief is very refreshing & one I have been thinking about a lot.  I always feel like my kids are stuck with me, like they somehow were put in the Mediocre Parent line.  But maybe they are mine because something about me is exactly what they need.

So today, when Tova was flipping out because Gavin dared to hold onto the cart as he was instructed, I tried to remember that I was equipped for what she needed.

I still think the kids are ‘stuck’ with me for their mom, but maybe, just maybe we were matched together for a reason.

Today I would guess the reason is my many years in Band making me a little hard of hearing…

K~

One Response to “Things I Heard During My 15 Minutes At Target”

  1. Tracy @ My Minivan Rocks! June 22, 2009 at 11:08 pm #

    I wish I had been in Band…

Leave a Reply

