The Big City Swim

17 Jun

Today, the thermometer hit 80 & the sun was shining (mostly) so we ventured out for our first big city pool experience.  I was not really anticipating this would be any different than our swimming experiences in Rural City.

I was wrong.

I now understand why there is a subdivision pool & why it might be worth the $600 yearly price tag.

What a mad house!

The first pool we tried was fairly close to the house.  All the pools in Metropolis (I’m going to revert back to this moniker because G~ is in a Superman phase) have a couple of water slides & a zero-depth pool for the little kids.  Apparently the pool closest to our house is very popular.  I have never encountered a line to get into a pool before.  When we pulled up there were probably 75 people waiting to get into the pool because at 2pm, they were already at capacity.

On to the next pool.  This one was smaller but just as packed.  I don’t see how they weren’t at capacity, but we got in so, meh. The kids had a good time.  E~ enjoyed the water slide.  G~ enjoyed swimming between my legs.  T~ enjoyed jumping off the edge.  It was just a matter of finding a spot to jump & keeping an eye out for the boys swimming among the thousands of other kids.  Okay, that’s a bit of an exaggeration, but it felt like a thousand as I was scanning for E~.  G~ was always easy to spot in his bright orange swimsuit.  E~’s new suit is navy & green.  That was a mistake!  Next year he’s getting something neon.

I did meet a nice woman who has adopted 2 boys from West Africa.  We chatted for a while & I would have given her our contact info, but no one had a pen or paper or a dry pocket…

Swimming won’t be the relaxing activity it was in Rural City but we’ll survive & possibly even make friends!

K~

2 Responses to “The Big City Swim”

  1. Elaine June 18, 2009 at 6:17 am #

    You are much braver than I. Public pools always scared me a bit because: 1. I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to keep track of all the kids and 2. I know they treat the water with chemicals, but still . . . I don’t know who is bringing/doing what in those pools.

  2. kleckmusic June 18, 2009 at 8:55 pm #

    A line to get into the swimming pool? That’s crazy.

Leave a Reply

