Sweet Potato Fries

16 Jun

I’m suffering from a major blogger’s block.  Instead of making you read some whine about something, you’re getting a yummy recipe instead.  I’m not a big fan of the sweet potato.  However, this is soooooo good!

Oven Baked Sweet Potato Fries
serves 4-6

1 – 1 1/2 lb sweet potatoes
1/4 cup olive oil or canola oil
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1/2 tsp paprika
1/4 tsp cinnamon

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil (preferably the easy release kind).

Peel the sweet potatoes. Cut into strips that are about 1/2 inch wide on each side.

Place the sweet potatoes into a sealable plastic bag.

In a measuring cup, mix oil, salt, paprika and cinnamon. Add oil mixture to bag.  Seal the bag and shake well to thoroughly coat the fries. Spread the potatoes out onto the baking sheet in a single layer.

Cook for 30 minutes, turning every 10 minutes. Transfer immediately to a paper towel lined plate and serve warm.

*^*^*^*^*^*

I turn them more often, probably every 6-7 minutes so they are crispier.

Enjoy!

K~

The recipe was originally found here.

5 Responses to “Sweet Potato Fries”

  1. Tracy June 16, 2009 at 10:21 am #

    Mmmm. We love sweet potoato fries. I’m not mush of a cook though, so I just buy the frozen varirty and throw them in the oven. (I’m sure they’re not as good as your, but I’m lucky that my husband and my kids don’t expect much from me.) 🙂

  2. Tracy June 16, 2009 at 10:23 am #

    That’s “much” of a cook, not “mush” of a cook, though “mush” could probably describe my cooking sometimes too.

    Oops. Just realized I misspelled variety too. Why don’t comments have spell check?

  3. Tracy June 16, 2009 at 10:24 am #

    Crap! I misspelled potato too.

  4. ssamuelalfred June 16, 2009 at 11:25 am #

    The sweet potato (Ipomoea batatas) is a dicotyledonous plant which belongs to the family Convolvulaceae.
    Dishes with the sweet potatoes are awesome and delicious indeed to eat.Its good for health!

  5. Jana June 16, 2009 at 1:07 pm #

    I love sweet potato fries! Trader Joe’s sells them in a frozen bag and they are yummy!

Leave a Reply

