Perception

10 Mar

I think I’ve figured out why I feel rather blah about the new house.  We’ve spent the last 5.5 years fixing up our house.  I have bedrooms that have been completely gutted & redone.  I have new carpet in the basement.  I have a new kitchen floor.  The bathrooms look great.  My house is a work in progress but only a few things remained.

Our new house needs an overhaul.  New carpet upstairs, paint everywhere.  The bathroom cabinets need to be painted or replaced as do the sinks & counters.  The kitchen – where to start?  The list goes on & on.

Here I see the ‘fun’ projects like the fireplace insert & closet organization (things we’d pay people to do).  There I see years of work (things J~ & I do, minus the carpet).  I’m not relishing the idea of starting over on house projects.

That being said, I do like our new house.  I think the floor plan will suit us very well.  I like the size of the bedrooms.  I’m excited to no longer share a bathroom with the boys & their constantly exploding toothpaste.  The backyard has direct sunlight so I’ll even be able to have a garden.

I am also excited about new appliances.  I finally get my coveted range.  I haven’t picked the one yet, but there are a few options.  We’ve been looking at appliances in bisque which apparently is going out of style.  Our fridge is in bisque but only because our existing appliances were bisque.  It’s not my first choice for color, but at least it wasn’t avocado, which incidentally was the color of the fridge we had to replace less than a week after moving into our current home.  So now we need to decide between white & bisque or some other color (but not stainless).

I wasn’t going to vent in this post but I need to get it off my chest.  We’ve had months of stress.  MONTHS.  I don’t wear my stress well so it’s not a shock to people that this has been hard.  Anyway, as soon as we have some good news people seem to take it upon themselves to rain on our parade.  If it’s not questions about the buyers employer, it’s the builder of our new house was known for cutting corners, or the secretary at the new school is mean, or the river behind our house is out of its banks the highest its ever been-are we worried about flooding?  Just about anything can be made into a new worry.

People!  I don’t need anymore things to worry about.  I have plenty already.  So truly, if you don’t have anything nice to say BE QUIET!  I’m going to need about a year to recover from the last 4 months the way it is!

I’m so tired of talking about the move.  I’m tired of writing about it.  I’m especially tired of living it.  But when I try to come up with something else to write/talk about, it feels forced since this is the biggest thing going on for me.

I need a vacation…

K~

8 Responses to “Perception”

  1. Tonya March 10, 2009 at 11:22 am #

    I would tell those people to shut it when they start talking or cover my ears and say Lalalala! Just kidding but that seriously stinks. I want to move but we can’t right now.

  2. Your Hubby March 10, 2009 at 11:40 am #

    Good and heartfelt thoughts. You echo my sentiments. Also, nice banner picture.

  3. Janel Dranes March 10, 2009 at 1:04 pm #

    Don’t worry …be happy:)

  4. Julie M. March 10, 2009 at 5:01 pm #

    Things can only get better…

  5. Julia March 10, 2009 at 6:16 pm #

    Think Target and more than four restaurants and less of a drive to MN and so on and so on and so on and also remember a new guilt free church! And that you knew none of us when you got here and look at how wonderful we all are, which means bizarro(think Seinfeld) Julia Chris Janel George Julie Zac Amy Doug Diny Pastor Kathy, ect ect are just around the corner!

  6. Nicole Hawkinson March 10, 2009 at 7:57 pm #

    I hear you….redoing homes is Ben and my “hobby”. 4 homes before the Carolinas….4 full kitchen redo projects. I finally got a house that doesn’t need to be redone….and I want to change it to make it mine anyway. Go figure! Our last kitchen, my favorite….I still miss it!

  7. elramey March 10, 2009 at 9:58 pm #

    I could sit here and tell you everything is going to be fine and things will get better — but you know that already. Things suck right now for you and I am sorry. Virtual hug from Houston.

    e

  8. Elaine March 12, 2009 at 6:57 am #

    I so understand how you feel. And the people raining on your already soggy parade? Oooo, I get that, too. I could tell you stories . . .

Leave a Reply

