I <3 Valentine’s Day

9 Feb

Did I say <3?  I meant h8.

Let me count the ways

  1. Making my boys write out valentines.  One wrote them out willingly.  The other couldn’t remember all the names of the 20 kids he spends 6 hours/day, 5days/week with.  Oh the tears & the whining.  The love was oozing from every pore of his being.
  2. Buying Valentines.  What kind of a racket is this?  I spent $5 on 2 boxes of cheap stickers & holographic cards because one kid has to have 25+ Valentines for everyone who’s ever stepped foot in his classroom & that doesn’t leave enough left over for the his brother’s class.  Yes, I could make them, but that would require creativity & time.  Creativity I could do, Time is another story.
  3. All the candy.  The red candy & the pink candy & the sprinkles on the cookies.  Just what the kids need before a 7 hr road trip.  Do you think it’d be mean to pull the kids out of school before the parties started?
  4. All the crap they sell in the store.  Because nothing says love like a cheap stuffed bear & a box of chalk flavored candy hearts.  The kids are beginning to pick up that some families treat this “holiday” as a second Christmas.  Not me.  I just steal the boys chocolate & tell ’em I love ’em just like every other day.

I’m crankier than I thought…

Okay, funny story to end the rant.  This afternoon as we were unloading stuff from the car, G~ was sticking his tongue out trying to catch rain drops.  T~ starts copying him & then takes it a step further.  Today, for the first time, I heard myself saying “Don’t lick the car!”

K~

2 Responses to “I <3 Valentine’s Day”

  1. Tonya February 10, 2009 at 7:46 am #

    I’ve heard myself say to the kids not to lick many things. I will never understand their need to lick nasty things. I am so with you on the Valentine’s Day. This year we got a card in the mail for some free pearl earrings and since I got some for Christmas Jeff suggested we get them for Brae for Valentine’s. So of course I needed to pick up something little for the boys so they didn’t feel cheated and I was going to be in Florida so I felt a little better about it, but now I’m not going. We’ve never done that before and I don’t think we will again.

  2. Elaine February 11, 2009 at 6:26 am #

    LOL!!! The things we never imagine we will have to say! I’ll never forget the time I had to say, “We don’t butter the vacuum!”

Leave a Reply

