Recharged

10 Jan

We survived Week 1.  In some ways it was as bad or worse than I thought but, in others it wasn’t too bad.

Ways it was bad

  • 2 pukers
  • 1 squirter with a horrid diaper rash.
  • 4 daily criers
  • A toddler who won’t sleep for more than 3 hours at a time & wakes up crying for daddy to “rock a baby.”
  • The after affects of the nightly webcam chat.

Ways it wasn’t too bad.

  • I lost my temper with the boys only once.
  • Wore mostly yoga pants & pj’s, severely cutting down on the laundry 😉
  • No one to tell me I’m playing too much Mario Kart.
  • Watching Intervention is a lot nicer when you don’t have someone making snide comments about the uplifting nature of the show every 5 minutes.

I learned a couple things about myself too.

  • Lunch with a friend does wonders for my mood.
  • I would rather use the boys bathroom (they have terrible aim & I loathe cleaning toilets) than use a plunger.
  • I can handle puke clean up.  Don’t tell J~.

K~

7 Responses to “Recharged”

  1. Christine January 10, 2009 at 10:33 pm #

    Happy to hear you survived the week! Going it alone is never fun. I usually learn alot about myself too 🙂 For example, I *can* kill a spider. Who knew? Definitely not Bill who has been woken up to kill a spider, snatched out of the shower to kill a spider, and called home while on duty to kill a spider.

  2. Your hubby January 11, 2009 at 2:07 pm #

    Hey there! Just cruising by. Thought I would comment, especially to ‘defend’ myself. I don’t recall saying anything about too much MarioKart. However, I still stand by my opinion that Intervention is only a good way to feel good about yourself and not an uplifting show. Other things that were learned this week: 1) It is difficult to watch three kids being followed by the same webcam; 2) Eating at restaurants for almost every meal during the week loses its luster quickly and leads to an increase in waistline. I hope that this week goes better!

  3. Elaine January 11, 2009 at 4:41 pm #

    Glad you survived your week. What a horrible time for the kids to all get sick. Hopefully next week goes better and you can have more lunches with friends. I think expenses from such outings should be deductible as a medical expense. You know, therapy and all.

  4. Jill January 11, 2009 at 10:03 pm #

    You are doing great, Kristen! Hang in there. Our first year of marriage, we saw each other two weekends a month. Granted there were no kids – but it was really hard and you do grow up a lot and fast! Since kids, he’s traveled several times and all I can say is – friends and family are lifesavers. And you know what? Mike traveling is easier now with the kids – I at least have buddies with me in those lonely times! And, I’ve finally figured out that he doesn’t like traveling (like J~’s comment about eating out) any more than I do. You guys are doing great – I’m cheering for you. Mike travels this week too – wanna come visit? 😉

  5. Tonya January 11, 2009 at 9:20 pm #

    Hope each week will be encouraging to you that you will live through this and then be able to laugh about the funny things that happened during this time. And I told you hanging out with you was my lifesaver.

  6. Kristen January 11, 2009 at 10:08 pm #

    Jill, I’d love to only I have a kid in school 5 days a week & another in school 3 days a week. Maybe since yours is only learning stuff 2 days a week, you can come here! We have plenty of room & I’d love the company. I’ll even hire a sitter & we’ll go out & celebrate your birthday.

    If only it were that easy…

  7. Jill January 12, 2009 at 12:57 pm #

    With a bit more planning – I could pull that off. I’ll work on it! This week we’re visiting Grammie and Papa to pass away our time. But, I could do it in the future….let me think on it.

Leave a Reply

