First!

6 Oct

This past weekend I ran my first race since high school.  There were a couple of options.  You could do the 10 mile bike ride, a 5K run, a 1mile run, or a 1mile walk.  The shirts look a little like the ones from The Office’s Michael Scott’s Dunder Mifflin Scranton Meredith Palmer Memorial Celebrity Rabies Awareness Pro-Am Fun Run Race for the Cure.  My friend C~ & I chose the 1mile run because we wanted to spend the rest of the weekend still able to walk.  In the made up categories, I won for the Over 32 age bracket, tied for second overall (there were only 4 people running the 1 mile), & had a great time.  Still, I finished, I ran the whole way & spent some time with a friend I don’t get to talk to very often..

We’re all about Cross Country lately.  There are 4 kids from our church running on 2 different high school teams.  We’ve been to 2 meets in the last week & I can’t wait for the kids to run Cross Country.  I’m hoping all this early exposure will mean I’ll end up with at least 1 runner.  I took the kids to a meet this afternoon.  Lots of exciting finishes for all our church kids.  I think the kids realized the value of cheering.  G~ commented after the girls race that they ran faster if you cheered for them so he made sure he cheered loudly for the boys race.  I LOVE this sport.

K~

Leave a Reply

