I Blame Man Movie Night

30 Jul

The past couple of days I’ve been researching a certain vacation destination in my spare time & I’m usually cross-eyed by the time I’m done, leaving no desire to do a blog post. But I’m back now because, drum roll please, we’re heading to St Louis. (read with a depressed tone)

We were going to go to New York City.

I had it all worked out. Airfare was $204/person, the hotel was $150/night, I knew where we were going, (Statue of Liberty, Empire State Building, Waterfalls, Central Park, FAO Schwartz, Ground Zero) & when we were visiting said places. I had it all planned out – we were ready to go! Only, J~ & I needed to see if the budget could handle a more expensive vacation. Sunday didn’t work because I had a major headache, Monday didn’t work because J~ had Man Movie Night, leaving us with Tuesday night. By the time we got around to discussing our NYC adventure, airfare had gone up $25/person & the hotel had gone up $50/night putting the trip back in the iffy category of affordability. And I was upset that I had missed the bargain rates so I couldn’t pull the trigger. If only J~ had stayed home instead of watching some ice hockey movie.

So now we head to St Louis. Maybe next weekend, we haven’t really discussed specifics yet. I’m disappointed but I’ll get over it. STL has some great activities for families so we’ll find something fun to do. It’s not New York, but it has decent restaurants & multiple shopping venues, what else does a person really need?

K~

2 Responses to “I Blame Man Movie Night”

  1. Jana July 30, 2008 at 9:44 am #

    Bummer! I think you should still do it! You only live once right! I’m only saying this because I’m dying to go back to New York City(I went for 2.5 weeks in 1998) and then I could live vicariously through your trip! But I understand the financial part too. St. Louis will be fun. I can check with my cuz who lives there for suggestions on fun things to do!

  2. JJ July 30, 2008 at 2:39 pm #

    I am glad that you are so excited about coming to the city in which I currently dwell.

Leave a Reply

