The Iowa Poop

12 Jun

The last two trips through IA with T~ have resulted in a traffic jam diaper blowout.  I’m not sure how she knows, but there’s something about the Cedar Rapids area & slow traffic that stimulates her colon.  We were stuck in a gawker’s slowdown in CR & ended up having to pull over on the shoulder to do a major cleanup.  The boys kept shouting about how gross it was, we could smell it, & you know if someone can see it, it must be bad.  I’ll save you the gory details, but let’s just say lot’s of hand sanitizer was used when we were done.  Of course I had just washed her carseat cover yesterday too.

Other than the blowout, our trip was actually not bad.  The boys were hungry for the junk we’d brought to snack on by the time we’d left the driveway & T~ only screamed for a few minutes at the very end of the trip.  That’s a success in our book.

The kids had a great time playing with their cousins tonight.  It’s fun to see T~ & her cousin I~ play together.   They’re about 1.5yrs apart but I~ is very eager to play with T~ & T~ loves the attention.

Tomorrow we head farther north.  When we arrive at our final destination, we’ll be about 30 miles from the Canadian border.  It’s a haul, but it’ll be worth it to see my extended family again.

I’ll get pictures posted when I get the laptop connected.  I can’t believe there are still people with only 1 computer & no need for a wireless connection!! 😉

K~

2 Responses to “The Iowa Poop”

  1. Jill June 13, 2008 at 7:44 am #

    Oh, this brought back memories. Kaylee had the biggest blowout ever in Waterloo, IA, a couple years ago! I spent what seemed hours in a restaurant bathroom with the car seat!!! I feel your pain!

  2. Elaine June 16, 2008 at 10:08 am #

    Kids sure do make travel fun, don’t they? Gross, gross, gross, but I’ve soooo been there. What did people do before hand sanitizer is what I want to know?

Leave a Reply

