Purge (Physical)

26 Apr

There’s so much swirling in my head right now. It’s hard to process all the Vietnam adoption news & I will try to put my thoughts down soon.

For right now, I will say that I’m heartsick for the many families that are caught in this mess. To all of my agency buddies, know that I am thinking of you & praying you will find the right path to your child.

^*^*^*^*^*^

On a lighter note. J~ decided today was the day we purge. He took the living room & cleaned off every surface & under every piece of furniture. All with T~ ‘helping’. We have a lot of stuff. A lot. I wish I was the kind of person who could do a garage sale, but I’m not. I can’t bear to watch people dig through my stuff & say it’s not worth a buck, how about 50¢? I’ll gladly drop my stuff off for someone else to sell at their garage sale, I’ll even help set up & take down. I just can’t do the bartering stuff. Of course, no one in their right mind would buy some of the things found on top of the piano…

Maybe that’s where E~ gets his stuff neurosis from. While J~ was tackling the living room, I headed down to help the boys with their bedroom. Oh the stuff they keep. Papers, plastic rings, trinkets from parties, craft projects (just E~), trash, the list goes on & on. E~ cried when I asked him to throw away a little cloth bag his preschool teacher had made to house a project 3 years ago. Cried. Real tears. I asked him if he remembered where he got the bag & he didn’t. I asked him when was the last time he played with it & he couldn’t remember. I asked him what he wanted the bag for & he didn’t have an answer for that either. And yet he still cried about putting it in the trash. What was even funnier though was when I sent him to do it, I caught him stuffing the bag under G~’s dresser.

I was able to get through G~’s dresser & sort his clothes. He has an issue with clothes. While E~ likes to keep anything that’s given to him, G~ can’t part with clothes. He still wears a pair of 2T pj’s. If a Metrosexual wore fire engine pj’s, G~ would fit in perfectly. Tight & stylish, that’s my G~. G~ has this pair of shorts that he wears ALL THE TIME. I can’t stand them; they’re too small & they’re stained & he won’t part with them. Somehow he must have got wind of the purge & the shorts are no where to be found. I keep trying to sell him on the idea that Cole will wear them, & it only seems to work on somethings, like shirts he doesn’t like & too small underwear. Sorry Becky 😉

K~

3 Responses to “Purge (Physical)”

  1. romperroom April 27, 2008 at 8:20 am #

    Boy, nothing says “I love you” like hand me down underwear. I’m sure Cole will be so grateful ;-).

  2. Lori April 28, 2008 at 9:42 am #

    Your boys sound alot like my hubby. He can’t seem to part with anything either. I love to have a good purge and spring cleaning! Have fun.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Is it spring yet??? « The Remiger Romper Room - April 27, 2008

    […] there is one, is that I started going through our stuff.  Ironically, my sister Kristen, was also purging their house this weekend.  I started Thursday by going through our bedroom closet.  Pat has had a […]

Leave a Reply

