A Brilliant Moment in Parenting

9 Apr

E~ woke up this morning complaining of a sore throat. I didn’t think much of it. He has a tendency to play sick when he doesn’t want to do something. I gave him some chocolate milk with his breakfast & sent him on his way.

It turns out that he was sick. He even felt bad enough to see the school nurse. On his way home from school he told Kathryn (neighbor we carpool with)

“I had a sore throat all day. I told my mom this morning but she said she didn’t care & I was going to school anyway.”

Lovely. Thankfully Kathryn knows me well enough to know that wasn’t how things went down. Still though, it doesn’t make me feel good to see how E~ perceived this mornings events. He & I had a nice chat this evening about faking sick & what to do when he doesn’t feel good at school.

I do need to trust him more. When E~ was little, if he said he didn’t feel well, he was usually really sick. He had an unusually high pain tolerance (or so it seemed to me) & we would go to the dr. for a lingering cold only to be diagnosed with tonsillitis & a double ear infection. Now he tends to use the headache, stomach ache, or sore throat when he wants to get out of chores or cleaning or he’s tired so it’s a little harder for me to tell when he’s actually sick or just trying to shirk his responsibilities. This morning he was tired & didn’t want to go to school. How am I supposed to tell the difference? I need to get this figured out so he’ll have a chance at graduating high school. With our current track record, he’ll either infect the whole school or always be at home with mysterious ailments.

The upshot is that E~ will be home from school tomorrow. We can all sleep in (a girl can dream) & most likely we’ll be heading to the dr. for a strep culture. With any luck, G~ will get sick too & we can skip soccer on Saturday. I’m not excited about spending my morning when the forecast looks like this

Saturday

Chance Rain/Snow Chance for Measurable Precipitation 50%
Chance
Rain/Snow
Hi 42°F

I have a mountain of laundry to fold, again. I swear the stuff mates while it waits in the basket. Lucky me, there is nothing on TV. There’s only so much House Hunters I can stomach in a night. After awhile, it pains me to watch these people look at houses & complain about paint colors or that the kitchen counter isn’t granite. It’s a stinkin’ counter top! It’s going to end up cluttered with junk no matter what type of surface it is & no one will see it anyway so you may as well be okay with the dreaded Formica. Plus, *gasp* it’s all replaceable!

Wow, I’m complaining a lot this week. I promise I’ll work on that. 🙂

K~

Leave a Reply

