Welcome To My Pity Party

7 Apr

I cannot win a drawing. If you want increase your chances at a cake walk, a coin toss, or a name from a hat, make sure I’m entered too. I lost a job opportunity at the Y due to a coin toss. Most recently, I lost a chaperon spot with E~’s class for their train trip . The kids board the train at 7am & ride to Galesburg IL, spend the morning at the Children’s Museum, eat lunch at a park & then ride a school bus back. Last year, E~’s class was always begging for volunteers, this year his class has a few more active parents. Great for his teacher, bad for me. As of last week, the class had only 5 parents signed up to go, me included. Apparently there was another & then the dreaded drawing & I am not going. I’m disappointed. It would have been fun to go along. I love spending time with E~ & seeing him in his school environment. Oh well, surely with 2 more kids in the school system, I’ll have a shot at the train trip in the future.

In case you couldn’t tell, I’m feeling very ‘poor me’ at the moment. The kids were horrid at supper tonight. I took them to a local pizza place with a padded playroom since J~ had a meeting & our neighbor asked us to go. Should have been a good time except that my boys chose to act like this is the first time they’ve seen the light of day in months. Apparently, it is not fun to play with your friends unless you are actively trying to break a bone or crack open a skull. We actually had some boy leave the playroom because our kids were too rowdy. Kathryn & I were embarrassed but the kids were unfazed. Besides the pizza being so-so & the poor service, I remember now why we don’t go there often. My kids act like uncontrollable blind bulldozers.

Had enough of my whine yet? The only cheese I have is cheddar, & that doesn’t seem like enough to stick around for does it? What else? Hmmm. Oh I’m on my 4th pair of running shoes. Struck out with the Brooks & have moved on to Asics. The 4th pair came today & I still don’t know if I like them. I just want a pair of shoes to fit. I don’t want to break them in, I just want to go for a run & have decent arch support & room in the toebox. Is that too much to ask?

I also would like the cat to stop trying to sleep across my neck, T~ to take longer than a 30 minute nap, G~ to listen, E~ to talk to me in a pleasant tone, J~ to not work so much, & the dog, well, there’s nothing wrong with the dog. I guess I’ll keep her.

Whew, now that’s out of my system, I’ll list 5 good things about today.

  • T~ is talking so much more. She now says Hi, bye-bye, Dada, Mama, Pabo (Pablo), Hey baybay (my usual greeting to her after her nap), & shakes her head no. It’s so fun to see her blossom.
  • G~ is swimming so well. He swam across the pool today doing the backstroke & when he was done he sat on the side & practiced his stroke. He loves, loves, loves swimming lessons. Today he forgot to pack his pants (I’ve started giving him a drawn list of his chores or what he needs to pack. It usually works & makes him feel responsible & much more compliant). After lessons, I put him in his t-shirt & underwear, wrapped a towel around him & we headed to the van. Unfortunately he lost his towel as we were crossing the street. G~ takes it all in stride. He grabbed the towel & continued on his way, laughing the whole time.
  • E~ had a great day at school. He had a fire drill, which seems to have been the highlight of the day. We had a nice conversation after school about our emergency plans. E~ spent some time this afternoon scouting for our tornado spot.
  • J~ is busy, but he still enjoys his job. He’s tired & trying to stay ahead but at least he doesn’t dread going to work.
  • I didn’t have to cook supper tonight.

That’s 5. I’m done. I hear a bubble bath calling my name. Nothing fixes a bad mood faster than a bubble bath & a bowl of ice cream smothered in Hershey’s syrup.

K~

3 Responses to “Welcome To My Pity Party”

  1. Tonya @ Mama's Life April 8, 2008 at 9:46 am #

    That’s disappointing about the class trip. Our school does it where they have a sign up sheet for how many parents are needed and it is first come first get to go. The sign up days are always get to school early! As the teacher sends home a note the day before saying that the sign up sheet will be posted the following day. But like you said you have 2 more chances to go to on this trip 🙂

  2. J.M. April 8, 2008 at 4:26 pm #

    Kristen
    Last year, if you were not choosen to go on the train, you could still drive yourself. And at least that way you would still be involved. I don’t know if that’s an option this year or not.

  3. Lori April 8, 2008 at 6:07 pm #

    A bubble bath has always made me feel better. At least you were able to find 5 good things about your day.

Leave a Reply

