Nothing Yet & Cat Pee

19 Feb
MONDAY, FEBRUARY 19, 2007 02:25 PM, CST

I broke down last night and emailed our caseworker to see what she knew about travel dates. Mainly I wanted to know if we would be in the first travel group or the second. I haven’t wanted to bug her about it, she’s never been punitive before but I don’t want to give her a reason to start, you know? Anyway, what she said today was that we would be in the first travel group (Yay!) but the dates for G&R are going to be scheduled for the weeks of 3.12 & 3.19 (boo!).

My first emotion was relief. Another week to get ready, more time to put our house back together, more time preparing the boys, & more time to decide what to do with the cat (more on her in a minute). Now I’m feeling pretty disappointed. I guess I didn’t realize how set my heart was on having T~ on 3.5. I know it’s just another week but it’s a whole week more! How is it that we can have too much time & not enough time all in the same amount of time?

I wanted to also say Thank You to all of our Church family for all the wonderful gifts you gave us last night. Our whole family is truly blessed to be a part of such a wonderful congregation. It means so much to us to know that all of you await T~’s arrival with the same anticipation that we do. Her new room looks a little like Pepto Bismal exploded in there;-)

For all of you cat haters, skip this part. I need some advice on how to deal with our cat. Rudy is 10 & has been peeing on the floor. This has been going on for quite a while but we had been able to contain her mess to her room. Right before we tore up the basement we found that she had been peeing in the back corners of the family room. Our solution was to bury the corners with junk. She then decided to pee in the boys new room. We thankfully discovered that after we had torn up the old carpet & before we put in the new carpet. She was then banished to her room except for when she was in a place where we could keep an eye on her. Here’s the things we’ve done, medication (didn’t make any difference), bought a cat fountain (she drinks more water), & made her room really small (2×3), just enough room for her litter box, bed, fountain, food dish & a cabinet. So where does she pee? IN HER BED!!! What am I supposed to do? Is there anything else to try? I’m thinking it might be time to put her down. I really think it’s a behaviour thing & I was hoping we could retrain her, but she’s proving more than willing to fight me on that. Does anyone have any ideas? I’d like to keep her around but I can’t trust her up in the house. It seems cruel to have a cat just to keep her in her room & take her out when I have time to keep an eye on her. I’d really appreciate any ideas anyone has.

That’s all I have for now. I hope we’ll have travel dates the next time you check in.

K~

Leave a Reply

